Counties Added To Presidential Declaration

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- More Arkansas counties were approved Monday, April 21, for additional federal disaster assistance making them eligible for Individual Assistance and Public Assistance, announced the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Five additional counties–Conway, Garland, Hot Spring, Newton and Washington–are now eligible for Individual Assistance (IA) and join the previously declared counties of Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Craighead, Cross, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Izard, Independence, Lonoke, Jackson, Lawrence, Logan, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Scott, Sharp, Stone and Woodruff. The FEMA Individual Assistance program can help eligible applicants with temporary housing assistance, uninsured personal property and medical, dental, and funeral expenses caused by the disaster, and other serious unmet needs.

Two additional counties–Arkansas and Pulaski–are now eligible for Public Assistance (PA) (Categories A – G) and join the previously declared counties of Baxter, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Conway, Craighead, Crawford, Cross, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Greene, Howard, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Johnson, Lawrence, Logan, Lonoke, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Newton, Perry, Pope, Prairie, Randolph, St. Francis, Saline, Scott, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, White, Woodruff and Yell. The PA program reimburses local and state agencies and certain nonprofit agencies for the expenses and damages that occurred during the response and recovery phase of the disaster.

FEMA officials said the assistance was approved based on a review of damage data gathered by federal, state and local disaster recovery officials.

Affected residents and business owners in the added counties may apply for assistance immediately by calling the registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily. Those with a speech and hearing impairment may call a special TTY number at 1-800-462-7585. Online registration is available at

Applicants are advised to have the following information available to help speed up the application process:

Current phone number.
Address at the time of the disaster and the address where they are now staying.
Social Security number, if available.
A general list of damages and losses they suffered.
If insured, the insurance policy number, or the agent's and company name.
All counties in the State of Arkansas are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP).

ADEM and FEMA work together to coordinate the federal and state governments' roles in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Published on: 2008-04-22

Limited copyright is granted for you to use and/or republish any story on this site for any legitimate media purpose as long as you reference 7thSpace and any source mentioned in the story above. Please make sure to read our disclaimer prior to contacting 7thSpace Interactive. To contact our editors, visit our online helpdesk. If you wish submit your own press release, click here.


Custom Search


© 2018 7thSpace Interactive
All Rights Reserved - About | Disclaimer | Helpdesk