More Arkansas counties were approved Wednesday, April 23, for additional federal disaster assistance

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- More Arkansas counties were approved Wednesday, April 23, for additional federal disaster assistance making them eligible for Individual Assistance and Public Assistance, announced the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Eleven additional counties -Cleburne, Crawford, Jefferson, Lee, Miller, Phillips, St. Francis, Searcy, Sebastian, White and Yell- are now eligible for Individual Assistance (IA) and join the previously declared counties of Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Conway, Craighead, Cross, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Greene, Hot Spring, Izard, Independence, Lonoke, Jackson, Lawrence, Logan, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Newton, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Scott, Sharp, Stone, Washington and Woodruff. The FEMA Individual Assistance program can help eligible applicants with temporary housing assistance, uninsured personal property and medical, dental, and funeral expenses caused by the disaster, and other serious unmet needs.

Nine additional counties- Clark, Cleburne, Hot Spring, Lee, Little River, Mississippi, Phillips, Pike and Washington - are now eligible for Public Assistance (PA) (Categories A - G) and join the previously declared counties of Arkansas, Baxter, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Conway, Craighead, Crawford, Cross, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Greene, Howard, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Johnson, Lawrence, Logan, Lonoke, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Newton, Perry, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, St. Francis, Saline, Scott, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, White, Woodruff and Yell. Examples of category A-G include expenses associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures, road systems and bridges, water control facilities, buildings including contents and equipment, utilities and parks and recreational areas.

Three additional counties were previously declared for PA but for Category B only which is emergency protective measures. Those counties include: Benton, Faulkner and Nevada.

The PA program reimburses local and state agencies and certain nonprofit agencies for the expenses and damages that occurred during the response and recovery phase of the disaster.

FEMA officials said the assistance was approved based on a review of damage data gathered by federal, state and local disaster recovery officials.

Affected residents and business owners in the added counties for Individual Assistance may register immediately by calling the FEMA toll-free Helpline at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday. Those with a speech and hearing impairment may call a special TTY number at 1-800-462-7585. Online registration is available at

Applicants are advised to have the following information available to help speed up the application process:

Current phone number.
Address at the time of the disaster and the address where they are now staying.
Social Security number, if available.
A general list of damages and losses they suffered.
If insured, the insurance policy number, or the agent's and company name.
All counties in the State of Arkansas are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP).

Published on: 2008-04-24

Limited copyright is granted for you to use and/or republish any story on this site for any legitimate media purpose as long as you reference 7thSpace and any source mentioned in the story above. Please make sure to read our disclaimer prior to contacting 7thSpace Interactive. To contact our editors, visit our online helpdesk. If you wish submit your own press release, click here.


Custom Search


© 2018 7thSpace Interactive
All Rights Reserved - About | Disclaimer | Helpdesk