Appointments to Lump Sum Grant Steering Committee and Lump Sum Grant Independent Complaints Handling Committee

Hong Kong (HKSAR) -      The Government announced today (April 21) the appointment of three new members and the re-appointment of 10 incumbent members to the Lump Sum Grant Steering Committee (LSGSC). The Government also announced the re-appointment of the Chairman, the Vice-Chairman, and six incumbent members to the Lump Sum Grant Independent Complaints Handling Committee (ICHC). All of the appointments and re-appointments will take effect from April 22, 2017, for a term of two years.
     The LSGSC is chaired by the Director of Social Welfare and comprises 17 non-official members and two ex-officio members.

Of the non-official members, six are independent members and the remaining 11 members have backgrounds related to the Lump Sum Grant Subvention System, including as members of non-governmental organisations' (NGOs') management, service users and staff unions.
     The three new members of the LSGSC are Ms Alice Lau Oi-sze, Miss Irene Leung Pui-yiu, and Mr Yip Kin-chung.
     Ms Alice Lau Oi-sze is the Chief Executive of The Lok Sin Tong Benevolent Society, Kowloon.
     Miss Irene Leung Pui-yiu is the President of the Hong Kong Social Workers Association. She is a member of the Community Investment and Inclusion Fund Committee and the Appeal Board Panel (Town Planning).
     Mr Yip Kin-chung is the President of the Hong Kong Social Workers' General Union.
     Ten incumbent members, namely Ms Tammy Chan Yee-ching, Mr Francis Chau Yin-ming, Ms Michelle Cheng, Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun, Dr Jane Lee Ching-yee, Ms Teresa Lee Siu-hong, Mr Li To-sang, Ms Rebecca Ng Pui-ling, Mr Sin Kin-ming, and Dr Ricky Szeto Wing-fu have been re-appointed.
     As for the ICHC, the Government has re-appointed Dr David Dai Lok-kwan and Mr Albert Wong Shun-yee as the Chairman and Vice-Chairman respectively.
     Six incumbent members, namely Ms Ivy Au Yeung Lai-ling, Mr David Chan Wai-ming, Dr Eva Dunn Lai-wah, Mr Dennis Fong Wai-kuk, Mrs Joanna Li Lau Lai-hing, and Mr Raymond Wong Ka-ning have also been reappointed.
     The LSGSC was reconstituted in April 2009 to strengthen its role and composition as recommended by the Review Report on the Lump Sum Grant Subvention System (the Report) issued in December 2008. Apart from monitoring the implementation of the Lump Sum Grant Subvention System and identifying areas for improvement, it also monitors the implementation of the recommendations in the Report and facilitates sharing of information and experience among the Social Welfare Department (SWD), NGOs, their staff and service users.
     The ICHC was set up in April 2009 according to the recommendations of the Report. It handles complaints that cannot be dealt with satisfactorily by subvented NGOs.

It also relays decisions and recommendations to the SWD for appropriate follow-up action to enhance the Lump Sum Grant Subvention System.
     The membership list of the LSGSC with effect from April 22, 2017, is as follows:
Director of Social Welfare
Non-official Members:
Ms Au Chor-kwan
Ms Anna May Chan Mei-lan
Ms Tammy Chan Yee-ching
Mr Francis Chau Yin-ming
Ms Michelle Cheng
Mr Chua Hoi-wai
Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun
Ms Alice Lau Oi-sze
Dr Jane Lee Ching-yee
Mr Matthew Lee Siu-chung
Ms Teresa Lee Siu-hong
Miss Irene Leung Pui-yiu
Mr Li To-sang
Ms Rebecca Ng Pui-ling
Mr Sin Kin-ming
Dr Ricky Szeto Wing-fu
Mr Yip Kin-chung
Ex-officio Members:
Principal Assistant Secretary (Welfare)1, Labour and Welfare Bureau
Assistant Director (Subventions), Social Welfare Department
     The membership list of the ICHC with effect from April 22, 2017 is as follows:
Dr David Dai Lok-kwan
Mr Albert Wong Shun-yee
Ms Ivy Au Yeung Lai-ling
Mr David Chan Wai-ming
Dr Eva Dunn Lai-wah
Mr Dennis Fong Wai-kuk
Mrs Joanna Li Lau Lai-hing
Mr Raymond Wong Ka-ning

Published on: 2017-04-21

Limited copyright is granted for you to use and/or republish any story on this site for any legitimate media purpose as long as you reference 7thSpace and any source mentioned in the story above. Please make sure to read our disclaimer prior to contacting 7thSpace Interactive. To contact our editors, visit our online helpdesk. If you wish submit your own press release, click here.


Custom Search


© 2018 7thSpace Interactive
All Rights Reserved - About | Disclaimer | Helpdesk