LegCo Panel on Information Technology and Broadcasting visits Cyberport

Hong Kong (HKSAR) - The following is issued on behalf of the Legislative Council Secretariat:

     The Legislative Council (LegCo) Panel on Information Technology and Broadcasting conducted a site visit to Cyberport today (May 16) to gain an understanding of the Government's efforts in promoting the development of information and communications technology (ICT), as well as innovation and technology in Hong Kong.

     Accompanied by the Under Secretary for Innovation and Technology, Dr David Chung, and the Government Chief Information Officer, Allen Yeung, Members met with the management of Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited.  They received briefings from the Chairman of the Board of Directors, Dr George Lam; and the Chief Executive Officer, Mr Herman Lam, on the latest developments of Cyberport.  Members also learnt that Cyberport has recently rolled out a new three-year scheme to strengthen the support to the digital technology start-ups. 
     After the briefings, Members were joined by representatives of Cyberport start-ups specializing in financial technology, business solution and wearable devices.  Members learnt about the experience of these start-ups in raising investment funds and exploring business opportunities.
     Members also took the opportunity to visit Cyberport Entrepreneurship Centre, which provides assistances in enterprise management, the building and promotion of entrepreneurship, and nurturing talents for the ICT industry in Hong Kong.  The Centre also runs the Cyberport Creative Micro Fund (CCMF) Scheme and the Cyberport Incubation Programme to support ICT entrepreneurs in different development stages.  The CCMF Scheme provides funding to encourage the development of high potential start-up projects or business concepts, while the Incubation Programme provides support in business development, entrepreneurship and technology training to the incubated companies.
     Members participating in the visit included the Chairman of the Panel, Dr Elizabeth Quat; the Deputy Chairman of the Panel, Mr Charles Mok; and Panel members Mr Chan Chun-ying, Ms Yung Hoi-yan and Mr Nathan Law.

Published on: 2017-05-16

Limited copyright is granted for you to use and/or republish any story on this site for any legitimate media purpose as long as you reference 7thSpace and any source mentioned in the story above. Please make sure to read our disclaimer prior to contacting 7thSpace Interactive. To contact our editors, visit our online helpdesk. If you wish submit your own press release, click here.


Custom Search


© 2018 7thSpace Interactive
All Rights Reserved - About | Disclaimer | Helpdesk