Committee on Innovation, Technology and Re-industrialisation holds its first meeting

Hong Kong (HKSAR) -      The newly established Committee on Innovation, Technology and Re-industrialisation (the Committee) held its first meeting today (May 16).

     The Committee discussed the latest scene of innovation and technology (I&T) development in Hong Kong as well as its work focuses and mode of operation.  The Committee plans to cover a range of areas to enhance the local I&T environment and promote re-industrialisation in Hong Kong.

     Chairing the first meeting of the Committee today, the Financial Secretary, Mr Paul Chan, said that the Government was committed to creating a conducive environment for I&T development and re-industrialisation, thereby driving the upgrading and transformation of Hong Kong's economy.  The Committee would coordinate efforts through a high-level and inter-bureau approach.

    "The Committee will advise the Government on matters relating to the promotion of I&T development and re-industrialisation in Hong Kong, and will put forward appropriate development strategies and work proposals to enhance cooperation and coordination among stakeholders.

    "It was a very useful meeting as members, with their broad areas of expertise, had a fruitful discussion and gave constructive views on the Committee's priority in developing recommendations for promoting I&T development and re-industrialisation in Hong Kong," Mr Chan said.

     The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Financial Secretary
Mr Paul Chan Mo-po

Ex-officio Members (Four)
Chairperson of the Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation
Mrs Fanny Law Fan Chiu-fun

Chairman of the Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited
Dr Lee George Lam

Chairman of the Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute Company Limited
Mr Wong Ming-yam

Chairman of the Hong Kong Productivity Council
Mr Willy Lin Sun-mo

Non-official Members (16)
Professor Philip Chan Ching-ho
Professor Tony Chan Fan-cheong
Professor Daniel Cheng Man-chung
Mr Raymond Cheng Siu-hong
Mr Herbert Chia
Mrs Cindy Chow Lok Mei-ki
Dr Roy Chung Chi-ping
Mr Jimmy Kwok Chun-wah
Dr Humphrey Leung Kwong-wai
Miss Nisa Leung Wing-yu
Professor Li Zexiang
Mr Tak Lo
Professor Irene Ng Oi-lin
Professor Norman Tien Chihnan
Professor Benjamin Wah Wan-sang
Mr Pindar Wong

Official Members (Seven)
Secretary for Innovation and Technology
Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development
Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury
Secretary for Education
Permanent Secretary for Innovation and Technology
Commissioner for Innovation and Technology
Government Chief Information Officer

Published on: 2017-05-16

Limited copyright is granted for you to use and/or republish any story on this site for any legitimate media purpose as long as you reference 7thSpace and any source mentioned in the story above. Please make sure to read our disclaimer prior to contacting 7thSpace Interactive. To contact our editors, visit our online helpdesk. If you wish submit your own press release, click here.


Custom Search


© 2018 7thSpace Interactive
All Rights Reserved - About | Disclaimer | Helpdesk