New standing offer agreements awarded to provide professional IT services to government departments

Hong Kong (HKSAR) -      A total of 94 standing offer agreements were awarded today (July 17) to 49 companies under the Standing Offer Agreement for Quality Professional Services (SOA-QPS) scheme. These companies may be engaged to undertake information technology (IT) projects for the Government from July 31, 2017 for a period of 48 months up to July 30, 2021.
     The Government Chief Information Officer, Mr Allen Yeung, welcomed the participation of the companies in bringing innovative and creative IT professional services to the Government at the contract award ceremony.
     "The community has rising expectations for efficient and effective e-Government services. We have refined the provisions in this new round of contracts, including the adoption of a higher technical weighting with a price to technical ratio of 60:40 for some work assignments.

By this, we expect more innovative and quality IT solutions will be introduced to government departments to build a smart government.

     "We have lowered the entry requirement on past business volume in order to boost the industry development. There are 16 small and medium enterprises (SMEs) recruited in this new round of contract, representing around one third of the total number of contractors.

     "The Government has adopted since 2005 the SOA-QPS scheme to streamline and enhance the process for acquiring IT professional services. The total contract value of the fourth generation of the scheme is estimated to be over $1.5 billion, almost double the $0.8 billion of the first generation.

The total number of companies engaged also jumped from 22 to 49, evidence that the scheme has been well received by the IT industry. The scheme provides our contractors, including the SMEs, with a promising business prospect, thus fostering industry development," Mr Yeung added.
     The SOA-QPS scheme enlarges the Government's delivery capacity for public services and accelerates the delivery of IT solutions to support the increasing demand of quality e-Government services. Government departments may invite proposals for individual IT projects from contractors in the relevant categories and select service providers to undertake the assignments.

     The SOA-QPS covers four categories of IT professional services:

(1) pre-implementation and independent programme/project management services;
(2) ongoing services;
(3) implementation and combined system development services; and
(4) information security and independent testing services.
     The list of contractors is available at" target="_blank">   

Published on: 2017-07-17

Limited copyright is granted for you to use and/or republish any story on this site for any legitimate media purpose as long as you reference 7thSpace and any source mentioned in the story above. Please make sure to read our disclaimer prior to contacting 7thSpace Interactive. To contact our editors, visit our online helpdesk. If you wish submit your own press release, click here.


Custom Search


© 2018 7thSpace Interactive
All Rights Reserved - About | Disclaimer | Helpdesk