Some 1,400 teachers commended at Teachers' Day Ceremony

Hong Kong (HKSAR) - The following is issued on behalf of the Committee on Respect Our Teachers Campaign:
     Around 1,400 teachers were commended at the Salute to Teachers 2017 - Teachers' Day and Commendation Certificate Presentation Ceremony organised by the Committee on Respect Our Teachers Campaign (CROTC) today (September 8).
     Speaking at the ceremony, the Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung, said good teachers are like giants offering students support and helping them to see further and wider. Teachers' selfless dedication will be remembered by students for life.
     Mr Yeung said that the Government attaches great importance to education. The allocation of additional recurrent funding of about $3.6 billion has been approved by the Legislative Council and relevant new measures will be implemented this school year. 
     Noting the launch of i-Journey this school year, he said the paid non-local study leave scheme for secondary school teachers is aimed at encouraging teachers to broaden their horizons and enrich their experience through overseas studies.
     The Government wishes to join teachers to create a stable, caring, inspiring and satisfying learning and teaching environment to provide quality education to students, he added.
     Also addressing the ceremony, the CROTC Chairman, Mr Wong Kam-leung, said that dedicated teachers are the key to the continuous development of society. They serve as a role model for students and nurture students with different talents.

He said he hoped everyone would continue to work together for the interest of the next generation.
     Under the Teachers' Commendation Scheme organised by the CROTC to foster a culture of respect for teachers, secondary schools, primary schools, kindergartens and special schools may each nominate two teachers who have shown commitment and excellence in teaching. The Scheme is in its 22nd year, with over 27,000 teachers commended to date.
     Other officiating guests at the ceremony, which was held at the Kowloonbay International Trade & Exhibition Centre, included the Permanent Secretary for Education, Mrs Ingrid Yeung; the Chairman of the Education Commission, Mr Tim Lui; and the Chairman of the Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals, Dr Carrie Willis.

Published on: 2017-09-08

Limited copyright is granted for you to use and/or republish any story on this site for any legitimate media purpose as long as you reference 7thSpace and any source mentioned in the story above. Please make sure to read our disclaimer prior to contacting 7thSpace Interactive. To contact our editors, visit our online helpdesk. If you wish submit your own press release, click here.


Custom Search


© 2018 7thSpace Interactive
All Rights Reserved - About | Disclaimer | Helpdesk