Second meeting of Joint Task Force on the Development of the HK-Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Park in the Loop held in HK

Hong Kong (HKSAR) -      The Secretary for Innovation and Technology, Mr Nicholas W Yang, and the Vice Mayor of Shenzhen Municipality, Mr Ai Xuefeng, co-chaired the second meeting of the Joint Task Force on the Development of the Hong Kong-Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Park in the Loop in Hong Kong today (September 12).
    The meeting reviewed the work progress for the past six months. Both sides have been actively taking forward the development of the Hong Kong-Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Park since the first Joint Task Force meeting in Shenzhen on February 9. The Innovation and Technology Bureau briefed the joint meeting of the Legislative Council panels on the development of the Park on March 6.

The Draft Outline Zoning Plan was gazetted by the Town Planning Board according to the Town Planning Ordinance on June 9 for public consultation.
     At the meeting, both sides discussed and endorsed the articles of association and proposed nominations to the Board of Directors for the subsidiary company to be set up by the Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation (HKSTPC) according to the Memorandum of Understanding on Jointly Developing the Lok Ma Chau Loop by Hong Kong and Shenzhen. There will be 10 directors on the Board. The HKSTPC will expedite the setting up of the subsidiary company, which will be responsible for building the superstructure of the Park, as well as operating, maintaining and managing the same.
     Mr Yang said both sides agreed that the diverse backgrounds of the Board of Directors, drawing expertise from academia, engineering, technology and business development, would help execute the Loop project more effectively.

The next step is to put forward the nominations to the Board of the HKSTPC for appointment. An announcement will be made after going through the processes. The articles of association for the subsidiary company reaffirm that the Loop project is taken forward in accordance with Hong Kong's laws and systems.
     Other officials of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government attending the meeting included the Permanent Secretary for Innovation and Technology, Mr Cheuk Wing-hing; the Commissioner for Innovation and Technology, Ms Annie Choi; and officials from the Development Bureau, the Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau, the Education Bureau, the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau, the Innovation and Technology Commission, the Lands Department and the Civil Engineering and Development Department.

Published on: 2017-09-12

Limited copyright is granted for you to use and/or republish any story on this site for any legitimate media purpose as long as you reference 7thSpace and any source mentioned in the story above. Please make sure to read our disclaimer prior to contacting 7thSpace Interactive. To contact our editors, visit our online helpdesk. If you wish submit your own press release, click here.


Custom Search


© 2018 7thSpace Interactive
All Rights Reserved - About | Disclaimer | Helpdesk