Post-office employment for former CPU Head Mr Shiu Sin-por, former politically appointed official Mr Godfrey Leung and former official under special appointment Ms Sophia Kao

Hong Kong (HKSAR) -      The Advisory Committee on Post-office Employment for Former Chief Executives and Politically Appointed Officials has advised on the proposed employment of Mr Shiu Sin-por, the former Head of the Central Policy Unit, and Mr Godfrey Leung King-kwok, a former politically appointed official, after their departure from the Government on July 1, 2017. Furthermore, the Government has accepted the advice of the Advisory Committee on the application for post-office work from Ms Sophia Kao, a former Full-time Member of the Central Policy Unit, and approved the application.

     The Advisory Committee considers that, subject to the observance of certain restrictions it has advised, the proposed employment of Mr Shiu and Mr Leung would not give rise to any potential conflict of interest. The Advisory Committee also does not anticipate adverse public reaction or public perception to arise from their proposed employment.

     Ms Kao is a former official under special appointment who left the Government on July 1, 2017 upon the expiry of her employment contract.

After considering her application for post-office work, the Advisory Committee has advised that she may take up the proposed work subject to certain restrictions. The Government has accepted the Advisory Committee's advice and approved Ms Kao's post-office work application subject to those restrictions.

     The Advisory Committee considers and advises on the post-office employment or appointment for former politically appointed officials and officials under special appointment. In considering each case, the Advisory Committee has regard to the information provided by the former politically appointed official or former official under special appointment concerned, the assessments by relevant government bureaux or offices, and the criteria for advice as stipulated in the guidance notes on post-office employment for politically appointed officials or officials under special appointment as applicable.

     Details of the above-mentioned cases are available at the Advisory Committee's website (" target="_blank">

     The membership of the Advisory Committee is as follows:

Professor Liu Pak-wai (Chairman)
Ms Teresa Cheng Yeuk-wah
Ms Elaine Lo Yuen-man
Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen
Mr Thomas Brian Stevenson

Published on: 2017-11-14

Limited copyright is granted for you to use and/or republish any story on this site for any legitimate media purpose as long as you reference 7thSpace and any source mentioned in the story above. Please make sure to read our disclaimer prior to contacting 7thSpace Interactive. To contact our editors, visit our online helpdesk. If you wish submit your own press release, click here.


Custom Search


© 2018 7thSpace Interactive
All Rights Reserved - About | Disclaimer | Helpdesk